Contentment – knowing you always have what it takes…no matter what

Whether I live in the city with all its attractions and complications, or whether I live in the village without electricty, hot water, and a flush toilet – yet with the surpassing beauty of simplicity you do not find in the city – Father, may I find my contentment in You alone, in the truth that you provide for my physical needs in whatever external environment I’m in …

Whether I went to school in the village, or attended an international school, whether I have a degree in engineering or grade 8 certificate; Father, may I find my contentment in You alone – in the fact that You value me as a person, and not because of my intellect…

Whether I enjoy the friendship of a special woman or still taking my time to initiate anything; Father, may I not gratify my sexual desires like how the world does it, but please, show me just like how Adam found his heart’s content in You first both before and after You presented the Woman to him, so may I find my contentment in my relationship with You always, regardless of my earthly relationship status!

Oh Lord, show me the way, so that I will learn in whatever state I am, to be content.

(Extract from the pages of Josh’s Heart Book – JHB – July 2013)

Philippians 4:11 “Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, to be content”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.