At the passing point – with a page, a pen… and a Junker’s** prayer

Dear Lord, I would like to renew my annual subscription of 365 days of life in this body. I know You’d want that, right? To keep me alive? Because, I know your Will and desire for me is to spread your Kingdom and Righteousness here in Papua New Guinea – and whichever country’s soil my feet tread upon – and You know that is my desire too. So if we’re both thinking the same, that means You gotta keep this old body alive and healthy to do just that. Yeah?

Okay, I was just kidding about the order thingy.

But seriously, Lord; You know the dream and the plans in my heart that I want to accomplish. And You know that it will definitely take more than one year to accomplish, too. Please keep me alive until I can accomplish that dream, Lord; until I can say I have fought the good fight, I have run the race. Then You can take me from this earth to be with You. (Temporarily, that is, until You return me back to the new earth to perpetually rule and have dominion in my resurrected body).

Apart from that, Lord, thank You for letting me see the end of this year. Thank You for keeping me alive.

Thank You for being with me from January 1 till December 31. Thank You for always being with me through my ups and downs, through my sweat and tears; for being faithful when I wavered in my faith, for being patient with me each time I fell, for being there when I celebrated my accomplishments…

Thank You for letting me experience You like never before this year.

And I don’t want it to stop here, Lord. I want to continue on to start afresh this New Year again with You – from start to finish. Lord, You remember that time how Moses reacted when You told him You would no longer go with Israel but send Your angel instead? Moses said, ‘No, Lord, we will not move camp unless it is You who comes with us’. God, I will not embark into 2015 without Your presence in my life.

I want to look forward to meeting with You in our early morning sessions when I run through and submit my daily plans, or my yearly plans, or my 5-year plans – knowing You would do much more than I could ask or imagine – and then let You determine my steps throughout the day, and the year, and the next five years.

I look forward to working with You – not only as a team; but in a deeper sense, as ONE. Just as You, the Trinity are ONE. Jesus, You prayed that all who believe in You would become ONE with You and the Father. God, heaven knows my whole being from inside out is bursting with that desire – to be ONE with You, to know You, to experience You. Let this desire become real in my life this year, oh God. You said You would give me the desire of my heart as I commit my way to You. I pray along with Jesus, too: Let me be ONE with You.

I can’t live without You Lord. Life is less than half it’s fullness and abundance without You. So I want to let You know that I choose to make the conscious choice each day to serve You, my Lord and my God. Just as Joshua’s words echo down through the ages, I choose this day whom I will serve. And it’s You.

I Love You Lord. You know why? Because You first Loved me. Let my only debt in life be the debt of Love.

Oh, yes. Lord, my brothers and sisters around the globe and here in my beloved nation are listening in on this prayer. If they are in agreement with what I have uttered above for myself; and if any part of my prayer reflects what they desire in their hearts as well, then may my prayer become theirs, too. Please help us work together with You as ONE to accomplish Your purposes in our time and generation. Please help us to be an encouragement to those around us. Please keep us alive and breathing, for our desire is that the lives we live is all for Your Honor, and Your Glory. I ask in Jesus’ Name.

**Definition of Junker as defined by Jewels in ‘Junk’: ‘Someone who sees value in junk, and turns junk into something valuable’

(For if one man’s junk is another man’s treasure; then I propose it never was junk at all. As far as I know, the Greatest Junker is still alive today helping people see their lives from that very point of view – His view. We have always been His treasure).

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.